In an announcement published on 15th June 2021, the Minister for Justice announced that the temporary entry and transit visa restrictions which were imposed on the 28th January 2021 have been lifted for several countries.

It was announced that:

‘From 16th June 2021 passport holders of the following countries can now travel to Ireland without applying for an entry or transit visa in advance of departure:

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Guyana
  • Paraguay
  • South Africa
  • Uruguay’

It is important to note that nationals of these countries will still be required to meet the entry conditions of their proposed visit to Ireland.

In its notice, the Department of Justice stated that:

‘conditions of entry may include a requirement to have obtained a pre-clearance for certain purposes of stay.’

Persons travelling to Ireland can verify if they require pre-clearance here:

Those who do not abide by the necessary entry requirements face the risk of being refused entry at the border.

The full announcement can be found at:

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are affected by this notice or by the matters raised in this blog.